Russell County Medical Center | News Article

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

RCMC's Dr. Paul Phillips among those honored with Governor's EMS Award

Dr. Paul PhillipsNORFOLK, Va. – Dr. Paul A. Phillips, who serves Russell County Medical Center and Johnston Memorial Hospital, recently received the Governor’s EMS Award for Physician with Outstanding Contribution to EMS.

Dr. Phillips was among emergency medical services (EMS) providers from across the state who were honored for their outstanding contributions to the local, regional, and state EMS system by the Virginia Gov. Terry McAuliffe.

The awards were announced at a ceremony held during the 37th Annual Virginia EMS Symposium.

Phillips, from Dante, Va., is an emergency physician with Valley Emergency Physicians Healthcare which serves Mountain States hospitals throughout Southwest Virginia. He received the award also known as the Frank M. Yeiser Trophy. Phillips was recognized for more than 35 years of direct service to the local, regional, and state EMS system.

"We're fortunate to have Dr. Phillips and his wide array of experience as a part of our team," said Brian Dawson, MD, MBA, CPE, FACEP, who is VEP Regional Medical Director. "He is highly respected clinically among his peers and well-liked by the patients he serves."

He began his EMS career as an EMT in Southwest Virginia and served as both a paramedic and flight nurse. After obtaining his medical degree, Dr. Phillips returned to the area and began serving as an operational medical director. He currently provides medical direction for 13 licensed EMS agencies, serves as a regional operational medical director for the Southwest Virginia EMS Council, and is a member of the state Medical Direction Committee. His work has directly advanced the quality of prehospital care in the region and across the state.

Phillips was nominated for the Governor’s EMS Awards by the Southwest Virginia EMS Council, a regional nonprofit who coordinates the regional EMS awards program and who leads regional EMS system planning and coordination activities in southwest Virginia.

Nominations are submitted from each of Virginia’s 11 regional EMS councils. The awards were presented by Chief Deputy Health Commissioner Dr. Hughes Melton, State EMS Advisory Board Chairman Gary Critzer, and Office of Emergency Medical Services Director Gary Brown and Assistant Director Scott Winston.

The Southwest Virginia EMS Council is a regional non-profit organization incorporated in 1979 that provides technical assistance to EMS agencies, providers, and other stakeholders in the southwest region of Virginia.