News Article

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Mountain States board of directors honored with Donald R. Jeanes Humanitarian Leadership Award

Members of the Mountain States board of directors were honored onstage during the 2018 Quality Awards.


KINGSPORT, Tenn. – The leadership of the Mountain States board of directors happens largely behind the scenes, but last week at the 15th annual Quality Awards, the board was in the spotlight when it was honored with the Don Jeanes Humanitarian Leadership Award.

The award was created in honor of the late Don Jeanes, former Milligan College president and chairman of the Mountain States board, who passed away unexpectedly in 2012. It recognizes administrative and physician leaders, within Mountain States or its subsidiaries, who exemplify outstanding leadership by inspiring, encouraging, challenging and empowering others to pursue quality, compassion and service.

The board has helped successfully guide Mountain States through a tough national healthcare landscape over the last few years, and has led the organization through the long journey of merging with Wellmont Health System to form Ballad Health. And it’s all been done on volunteer time.

Board members honored were:Board member Gary Peacock gets a hug from Alan Levine.

  • Barbara Allen
  • Dr. Sandy Brooks
  • Mike Christian
  • Dr. Jeff Farrow
  • Bob Feathers
  • Linda Garceau, Ph.D.
  • Joanne Gilmer
  • Dr. David May
  • Brendan McSheehy
  • Dr. Rick Moulton
  • Gary Peacock
  • Dr. B.J. Smith
  • Rick Storey
  • Grant Summers
  • Clem Wilkes, Jr.

Jeanes, the award’s namesake, was an ordained minister and served as senior minister at First Christian Church before being selected as the 14th president of Milligan College, a position he held from 1997 until retiring in 2011. Upon retirement, he was named chancellor of the college. He was on numerous community boards, including serving as president of the Rotary Club of Johnson City.

Jeanes was a volunteer chaplain at Johnson City Medical Center for many years and became a member of the hospital’s board of directors. He was instrumental in the formation of Mountain States Health Alliance, serving on the Mountain States board – including as its chairman – and was also on the Johnston Memorial Hospital board where he was instrumental in the integration of Southwest Virginia hospitals into Mountain States. Jeanes was given Mountain States’ 2011 Spirit Award for his tireless and unselfish community service.

A plaque recognizing the Don Jeanes Award recipients is displayed in the lobby at the Mountain States corporate headquarters in Johnson City. Two of the board members honored last week, Rick Storey and Dr. Jeff Farrow, are previous Don Jeanes Award winners.